ReFresH Dance

hip.hop.dance

RFH/Fusion Iowa Battle + Jukebox thoughts

This video sums up our entire trip pretty much.

EDIT:: See below the the videos for random thoughts about the trip.

The video you’ve all been waiting for! DopeSauce Crew!

Watch as Nick Kim tears  it up during the funk showcase.

I know for me, it was after battling that I was the most motivated to work on my skills. I think everyone who battled felt that way. First time battlers Josh and Joe, but they had a good opening as you can see. Made some friends through breaking, Chi town Crooks crew haha. Even Nick, who didn’t break, but hit up that funk styles showcase came back with a new love for popping and locking. I had a dream the next day after getting back that I was in a bboy battle haha. It was about 8 hours round trip, but it certainly didn’t feel that way (except for the butt cramps). That first video sums up our just messing around, talking, listening to dance music.

If you want to take your dancing to the next level, you’ll need to get off campus. Take classes, meet chicago crews, go battle, go to shows. If you’re shooting to be at the top of the NU level you won’t go far. I believe that this is something Matt tried to inspire in us when he was still a student. He saw something bigger and took ReFresH to new levels of dancing than there was in the past at NU. But he went to those classes and shows and then brought it back to NU. Same with Jason, since he’s been here, I’ve been to three battles with him (partner in 1) and in that time, I’ve seen my breaking go to new levels.

As for me, I recently took a house class because I’ve always wanted to try it out and now I’ve found something new that I love and want to pursue, but it never would have happened if I didn’t get off campus, out of what’s comfortable and usual. For some of you, the next steps will be doing show, choreographing a piece, for others it will be taking a class or auditioning for a group. If you never stretch yourself, your growth will be hindered, and of course it’s easier to do things together. That’s why RFH is here =). Seriously, rely on each other, if you see this jazz class that you want to take, be like “hey debbie, want to go take this class with me?” and then we’ll go and get owned together (“wait that rolling thing u just did… can u break it down?”). This pretty much applies to anything, but since this is a dance blog, let’s talk about dance.

Peace,

Kcheung!

October 5, 2009 - Posted by | Off-Campus Events, ReFresH Stuff

4 Comments »

  1. Kevin: Testing Grou… OH COWS
    Josh: I’m friggin’ nervous, I dunno what you guys are talking about
    Joe: I’m just nervous… for the other team
    Me: Joe has swine flu, we’re all going to come down with it
    Nick: I already had it, NBD

    Comment by direntropy | October 5, 2009 | Reply

  2. word

    Comment by chiapet | October 6, 2009 | Reply

  3. Good memories guys. This’ll be one of many more battles to come.

    Comment by joefasho | October 6, 2009 | Reply

  4. Wish I knew about this… I coulda come down to Iowa… 🙂 it’s closer than chicago to me. But – does anyone know if it was Jarius who hosted it? (I think he’s ManOfGod, who hosted all the BTLs at madison… he knows some of Clau’s friends from HK)

    Good job guys, that’s pretty awesome.

    Comment by yooney | October 22, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

