ReFresH Dance

hip.hop.dance

On getting pwnt

Up until now I’ve been taking class in Japan with one guy, who is freakin’ amazing but he follows Americans and Shikkin just like everyone here, so his style has been relatively easy to follow though still technically challenging at times. At least I’ve done well enough that he wants me to perform with him at some point.

So I was reallyyyyy taken by surprise when I got totally OWNED by this girl teacher that I took a class from tonight. I felt heavy, fat, and unprepared entirely O_O. Why? Because she was doing really energetic, old school hip hop from way back when that I’ve honestly never had the opportunity to learn. And trust me it’s harder than it looks – you’d think all that rhythmic kicking and jumping should be easy to catch on… It’s got it’s own technicality to it, but if you can’t keep up with the aerobic component of it, you can forget getting the dance all together! But being in Japan gives me this opportunity to learn a foundation of hiphop I have never gotten the chance to. It really put me out of my comfort zone, and I am truly humbled. Osaka and Kobe are the closest big cities – Kobe is known for old-school stuff and some honestly mega-asian stuff. Osaka, as far as I’ve heard, has more Westernized style? But I don’t really know. I’m going tomorrow to take a few classes to find out for myself.

Anyway guys, don’t forget the importance of practicing your foundation and trying new things! I’m gonna do my best to master this style too.

Love,

Val

August 28, 2009 - Posted by | Community, Other

1 Comment »

  1. Yeeeah, In my opinion, everytime you get owned, you get better. Yes! Or at least you get the mad motivation to get better. That’s the place where I’m at now.

    Comment by dreamstatecheung | August 28, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

