ReFresH Dance

hip.hop.dance

RFH at Chicago Smart Battle

The Chicago Smart Battle took place yesterday at Smart Bar near Addison. Two of your very own Bboys went and represented ReFresH (under the name Dope Sauce Crew) among some of the biggest names in the Chicago area. Myself aka KCheung aka Bboy Jukebox and Jason Hwang aka Bboy Ntropy were pitted up in a 2v2 against Waka and Shorty of Brickheadz and Ak and Torsion of Chicago Tribe in a 3 crew battle.

Oh yeah, for those of you who don’t know Jason Hwang, he’s gonna be a first year Grad student at NU this year. A bunch of us have been chilling with him since he got here. He’s got mad style and is looking forward to meeting everyone else in the crew. He’s a pretty cool guy so look forward to meeting him too.

So anyway, here is an excerpt from a review of the battle:

* Battle #4 Was Quite A Treat;literally…dope Sauce Crew, Chicago Tribe#1(torsion And Ak) And Brickheadz #1(waka And Shorty)…dope Sauce Crew Was Pretty Good, But They Were Overshadowed By The Star Power In This Battle. Ak Was Flaring Away And Torsion Was Twisting Away…but The Ageless Waka Was Hoping From Limb To Limb And Shorty Was Well..shorty. Brickheadz Win

We got pretty destroyed in the battle, so it made me happy to hear that we at least got some props from some of the spectators. It was pretty obvious that Brickheadz and Chi tribe were ignoring us and going after each other, but I mean that wasn’t unexpected. I must say though, it was a humbling experience to go in with your all and still be ignored. Gotta step it up a notch to raise our levels. Personally, I don’t want to have to go through that again. All in all, a sick battle, good times, good dancing, and then Taco Bell afterwards.

UPDATE: On the left is Jason hitting his jumping thread to a rollback airchair. The only pic I found of me dancing was landing after an invert (I look like I’m bending over) so I just put this one of me standing on the side trying to intimidate my opponent.

August 22, 2009 - Posted by | Off-Campus Events

5 Comments »

  1. AHH 🙂
    I’m very happy to hear that you guys went for it. Very admirable. Don’t stop!

    Comment by Vpants | August 23, 2009 | Reply

  2. Thanks val! We’re def gonna keep going. It seems you’ve been busy in Japan as well. =]

    Comment by dreamstatecheung | August 23, 2009 | Reply

  3. Thanks for the intro Kevin.

    This is Jason and I definitely want to hit up lots of battles this year (I have a car and basically anything within a 4 hour radius is fair game). Anyone who’s interested let me know and we’ll go wreck some jams!

    Coming events I’ll probably go to:
    -October 3rd @ University of Iowa 3v3 bboy battle
    -Janurary/Feburary @ Penn State 2v2 bboy battle, 1v1 all styles (this is my old crew’s event)

    Comment by direntropy | August 24, 2009 | Reply

  4. Yeah don’t worry about getting “pwnt.” You threw your hat in the pile, and even though they took a massive cake shit on it, you can still be proud that you did something few others have the stones to do (that is, get your hat cake shat on by breakers)!

    I miss you people so much! Almost no one fucking dances here… or games… Who would have thought I was a unique blackanese snow flake?~!?!1one

    Comment by 2chix1cup | August 24, 2009 | Reply

  5. w00t! If you’re gonna get served, get served in style 😀 haha, but seriously, I’m glad you guys went. Must have been really fun 🙂

    Comment by bboycloudix | August 25, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

