ReFresH Dance

hip.hop.dance

K-Cheung Reminiscing pt 5: KASA Show and CSA/Nayo

What?!?! A post that doesn’t have to do with KASA 2009? REEEWIND! It’s KASA 2006!!!

To be honest, post drag show to the Kasa show, I don’t remember much. For some reason, I didn’t take part in it. I think it might have had something to do with my being 4 projects behind on a winter quarter project. I know back then Funktion had a really big influence on us. You can definitely see it in our moves and even the actions. I remember when I was sitting in the crowds, I heard someone yell “Go Funktion, I mean Refresh!” That’s something that you can’t pay money for, the inspiration and motivation to get better. Millions of people watch ABDC and hundreds go to Celebrasia and KASA, but only a few leave the place changed. Funktion did that for us. In that sense, they are partly responsible for setting us on the track we are on today. Imagine if Celebrasia hadn’t gotten a dance group haha. Maybe we wouldn’t be where we were today. This was also the last dance we did with DENNISSS!!

I’ll take this moment to mention Vivian Han. She was a senior at the time and she only danced with us once, but she is like the link of Hip Hop at NU from the pre RFH to RFH. Her old group Freestyle had either graduated or disappeared leaving her without a group and that’s when we came along. Looking back, I can say that her dancing with us was something of a passing the baton. It’s something I say with an eye to the future because I know this year’s senior class and also the founders of ReFresH will be doing some baton passing soon.

This is probably something I’ll say a lot, but come to think of it, so many things fell into place for ReFresH. I think there were a lot of people and events that were driving forces and without any of them, we may not be where we are today. Maybe a group can get lucky once and do a show that people like. But to do it twice means you’ve found something good.

I want to say at this point, we were still just another dance group. With the coming on of CSA/NAYO everything was going smooth. This would be another show to keep things rolling. Then the night before the show, one of our dancers tears his ACL and Matt Chia heroically carries him out of tech to a saferide to get him back to Shepard. What a surreal night, but also the start of a great relationship (and also the birth of the RFH EMT division consisting of Matt and I). Not many of you have as crazy a start as “Acyan”. When I think about all he’s done for the group, I realized that it would have been very different without him. Although, I’ve said this before, but I think everyone brings something good to ReFresH. To lose one member would change the dynamic of the group… But back to the show, the rest of it went on without a hitch and thus ended the first year of RFH history.

Kcheung out!

End Part 5

April 17, 2009 - Posted by | Community

1 Comment »

  1. “Although, I’ve said this before, but I think everyone brings something good to ReFresH.”

    Don’t worry. Me and Jeff respect our elders. lolface.

    Comment by joefasho | April 18, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

