ReFresH Dance

hip.hop.dance

Relay For Life

Hi all,

I know that a lot of you have had a long weekend from DM…and I just want to first off say congrats!  You all represented ReFresH well and made a difference in someone’s life.

So, for those of you who wanted to participate in another philanthropy event but either a) did not have time to do DM, b) felt DM was too strenuous, c) none of the above, or d) I did do DM but still want to do this, here is another opportunity!  I wanted to kinda gauge the interest in putting together a ReFresH team for Relay For Life.  The website is here:

http://main.acsevents.org/site/TR/RelayForLife/RFLFY09IL/620638616?pg=entry&fr_id=14958

What Relay For Life basically is is you get a team together, sign up, raise money, stay up for 24 hours (or try to lol) with some friends at SPAC, and have a blast!  You are supposed to walk relay fashion for 24 hours…meaning one person from your team is walking at all times (though it’s not very strictly enforced…).

The cause that this event is for is raising money for cancer, remembering loved ones lost to the battle of cancer, celebrating the life of survivors, and simply helping other patients have a chance at survival and life.  I did this my freshman year, so two years ago, when my aunt was battling breast cancer.  It meant a lot to me back then because I was going through a tough time…and I always wanted to come back and do it again.  Of course, this event still means just as much to me now as it did then, and I’m sure some of you can relate to having to deal with someone you love struggling against cancer.

Some information is posted up on the website, though it’s not very complete yet…the date of the Relay is May 15 at SPAC.  There is not minimum or maximum amount you have to raise…just that you have to set a goal for the team and meet it before the deadline.  I don’t think they have posted a deadline for money collection yet.

Anyway, I just wanted to gauge the interest in this event…as it means a lot to me…and I’m sure that it means a lot to some of you too.  Let me know what you think about arranging a ReFresH team!

Thanks,

DWu

March 9, 2009 - Posted by | Community

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

