ReFresH Dance

hip.hop.dance

K-Cheung Reminiscing pt 4: Post Celebrasia

What can I say about our post Celebrasia times? We were the kings of the dance world at Northwestern. And even if we weren’t, we felt like it. I must have watched that video like 20 times that first week we got it, I memorized the random yelling “YEAH MATT!” in the beginning and “turn on the lights!” during my solo haha. ReFresH, “the all freshman group” according to the Celebrasia announcer, except of course, me, Travis, and Chris. The first performance is always something special. The very first time you stand in front of hundreds of people, seeing the crowd, seeing the lights, you hear the cheers, the people yelling your name, there’s nothing quite like it. I don’t think I’ve ever been that nervous before, but at the same time I had the feeling like I was doing something amazing. I remember while we were waiting in the wings, I asked everyone if I could pray with them before we got up on stage. I remember holding hands with everyone and saying some words. I don’t remember what I prayed for that night, but I believe God heard me.

Our next gig came from an unlikely source. I was friends with some of the execs of AAIV and they asked us to perform at one of their outreach events. The circumstances weren’t good and basically it was a bad performance. Even now I cringe a little thinking about it, but I think we learned an important lesson from it. For one, it made us realize our limits, that we weren’t super dance all stars that didn’t need to put a lot of time and work into what we do, a humbling of sorts. Two, I think from there we used it as something to push against that motivated us to strive to go higher and be better. In my opinion, it was better that we messed up at something small like AAIV and learned our lessons there than at say the Drag show or KASA show. Especially in the formative years of ReFresH, it was important to learn those lessons early and we’ve kept that mindset alive and continued to exceed expectations and to do the most with what we have. I wouldn’t say that this one show was a main reason that our next shows were great, but I know some of us were saying to ourselves “we never want another show like that” haha.

Our next performance, again was from an unlikely source, the people at the Northwestern Drag show heard about us (and Matt and others can fill in the details here because I don’t really remember them) and asked us to do a closing act. Whoo! This was big stuff, closing act at a show that was very well attended. Not only that, we were featured to work with the OPP himself Owen Priest (who is an orgo prof I believe). So we trained with him and we trained ourselves randomly in Parkes haha on that bad carpeted floor. We taught him our moves, and in turn he gave us… uhh… he gave us… … anyway, come the day of the show, we show up at Norris and we’re pretty much the only ones dressed as the right gender haha- what the?!? *crash* ouch! Who the hell are you?

Mysterious man: I’m the politically correct fairy (PCF)
Me: …. okay … so then wh-
PCF: In these days of political correctness, you can’t say things like right gender anymore because that discriminates against people who may consider themselves a different gender than is normally associated with their biological type.
Me: …. okay so then why did you tackle me?
PCF: You were making a blanket statement about gender based on your assumptions of what it means to be male and female.
Me: Yeah, but the whole point of the drag show is that you have these common ideas of what it means to be male/female and you are consciously breaking out of it by dressing in drag or androgynously, hence the name of the show.
PCF: but when you say “right” gender, you imply there has to be a wrong gender and you are drawing if not a moral line, a line that says there is a true way and a false way.
Me: In essence, that’s what the drag show does though, by deliberately featuring common conceptions of what is considered “wrong” or “false” it seeks to change people’s conceptions of what it means to be a certain type of person.
PCF: … so would you wear a skirt?
Me: of course not
PCF: discrimination!
Me: GET OUT OF MY ROOM! *picks up ninja sword*
PCF: *flies away*

Geeze… stupid pervert communist fairy, anyway, so I was saying we were the only ones dressed in the right gender. This show had a very different feel than Celebrasia I think partly because of the crowd we were in front of. The Asian community is like our community and there is a lot more at stake if we mess up there. I think at the same time, there is a lot more chance to get well known and to attract people. Also this was our 2nd big debut performance, and it didn’t have the same feel as the first one. I am proud to say that I took part in our one and only dance with STRING RAVING! (Glowsticks AAAHHWW!! *bear blast pose*). And I still say we need to use BEP – They don’t want music ft. James Brown for another dance. Dennis was in the back of the stage screaming his head off for us, he was sick at the time, but he was definitely with us in spirit. I don’t remember, did we have that giant sheet of linoleum at the time? I think we rolled it out on stage didn’t we? haha. Another good memory is thugging out Prof OPP for the performance. We didn’t have much, but thanks to DB who broke a clock off a wall hahaha, we duct taped it to a bike chain and he wore that for part of his performance with us. All in all a wonderful 2nd debut performance =D

An obscure one that I don’t know if anyone remembers, but later on that year, we did a joint show with the Undertones Acapella group. hahaha, it was like a 3 person show haha.

Cheung Out

End Part 4

March 4, 2009 - Posted by | Community

4 Comments »

  1. OPP YEAH YOU KNOW ME

    Comment by bboycloudix | March 5, 2009 | Reply

  2. For the record…here is the vid…you can even see Jon Chou breaking!!!! 😀

    Comment by bboycloudix | March 5, 2009 | Reply

  3. Jon Chou breaking is such a rare sight. It’s like that one time Travis tried to do the six step haha

    Here is the one with the raving in it.

    Comment by dreamstatecheung | March 5, 2009 | Reply

  4. *hey now, i’m a breaking machine, as in I break every time I try haha. Oh glow sticking, shall we ever revive it?

    Comment by tasteslikechou | March 5, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

