ReFresH Dance

hip.hop.dance

K-Cheung Reminiscing pt 3: Cele-what?

To my shame, I actually did not know what Celebrasia was. I totally did not go my freshman year and so I had no idea what it was or what it would be like. So my first Celebrasia with RFH was my first period. Oh and I had joined another nameless dance group with Kurt, but this one was a traditional Chinese one. The thought of learning choreography and participating in a show had never once crossed my mind when going to ReFresH in those days. Sophomore year was a very formative one for me. I did everything I could. I got really involved in AAIV and ReFresH. I did Panasia, DM, Project Pumpkin, volunteered weekly. I think of all the people I met that year, Matt, Val, Jon, Travis, Kurt, Dennis, Mike. There are key moments that I recall where I was touched by the people from ReFresH.

After I lost in Panasia (Yes, I lost, I didn’t even place in the top 3 haha), I was pretty upset at myself because I answered the question poorly, but I remember Val hung out with me and cheered me up. And then during DM, I have successive DM pix with Val that look very similar haha. That was also the start of the Kevin and Kurt super duo! I remember we made a whole puppet routine around like hour 15, practiced it for the next few sessions, and performed it sometime in the last 6 hours. There are more stories I’m sure and probably many that I’ve forgotten with all the people. To think, I’d have the privilege and joy to share the stage with you all multiple times. It’s something that I will always be grateful for.

We totally were super rushed that first Celebrasia. Everything I feel like got so crazy at that time haha. It was a big deal that Alex Carter and I met up in our free time to go over the routine haha. Did we even have other people besides Matt Choreograph that dance? It seemed so crazy and rushed, so new and exhilarating. We were stepping out into the unknown and no one knew what to expect. Heck we barely knew each other and even how to dance (looking back I say this, back then we thought we were hot stuff). There was something about that naivety. If today, we were to put on a performance of that caliber, we would be chewed out and put out on many levels, yet back then it brought us so much joy to just to do that. We looked up to Funktion back then, now they look really plain haha.

Celebrasia was the thing that took ReFresH to the next level in terms of publicity, vision, and dancing. Publicity because it got our name out there. People knew about us and thought we were cool. Vision because now we knew what we were capable of and we knew that it wouldn’t stop there. Dancing because it was the first thing we really did together. I’d say that the Friday sessions were done in each others’ company, but Celebrasia was something we did together, something meaningful that we all shared. I think things would have been very different had we not done this show or it had a different timing in the life of ReFresH.

Let me digress a bit and talk about passion for dance. Of course we couldn’t stay at that level. If you love something, you are not satisfied to let it dwindle and remain stagnant. You desire its growth and improvement. It’s impossible to go back to those days because we see so much more now, we know so much more. I’d never go back even if I had the choice though. Back then, I really disliked choreography and even up until my senior year, I disliked it. Something changed in probably this winter break and I feel like my eyes had been opened to something new, something fresh. The choreography hadn’t changed, but the way I looked at it had and now I enjoy it so much more. I think Celebrasia was something like that for a lot of people. It opened their eyes, gave them a vision of what ReFresH could become.

Cheung out
End part 3

February 18, 2009 - Posted by | Community

5 Comments »

  1. As always, please fill in the details and correct any mistakes I made.

    Comment by dreamstatecheung | February 18, 2009 | Reply

  2. Celebrasia~~
    This is really good read, wish I could help you fill in details 😛 but I was still taking SAT prep courses back then…

    Comment by mmmfro | February 18, 2009 | Reply

  3. ❤ i wish i could see that puppet show! was that what you and kurt were doing way late last night? i remember sticking my head out and saying “no yelling plz” but that’s pretty much it 😛

    I think celebrasia is always a huge milestone for refresh, no matter what year it is. it’s like a rite of passage for the group as a whole. and we’ve definitely earned those rewards for surviving those rites.

    ❤ i don’t think i met you until refresh another whole year later. i was very very very reclusive my first years at NU, but I’m so happy i found refresh like you.

    thanks for the warm fuzzy posts, they make my day. (and they get me pumped for choreo practice!!!!)

    Comment by yooney | February 18, 2009 | Reply

  4. @mmmfro: haha but it was those prep courses that helped you get where you now are, and for that I’m grateful that in the position you were in, you worked at it with all you had.

    @Yooney: Yeah it was me and him. Sorry for waking you! I think you’re right, every year it seems like it takes what we do to another level in some respect. The same could be said about KASA also (they are our two biggest shows after all). In terms of a rights of passage, I feel like the people who do Celebrasia are different than KASA. It seems that in the past, people have seen us at Celebrasia, been like “that looks awesome,” joined up with us for KASA or for a season and then faded away. I admit it happens both ways. I believe 2006 Celebrasia was the first time we danced together haha. Crazy days, but that’ll be saved for the next post.

    Comment by dreamstatecheung | February 18, 2009 | Reply

  5. Wow. I’m really feelin the last paragraph right now.

    “If you love something, you are not satisfied to let it dwindle and remain stagnant.”

    That’s exactly how I feel about breaking and Iso’s right now.

    Honestly, I’m getting really interested into choreo nowadays too. I saw Jun Quemado and Lando Wilkins for the first time like 3 weeks ago and I was like “how is that even possible?”

    Anyway, I’m lookin forward to the next post. =)

    Comment by joefasho | February 19, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

