ReFresH Dance

hip.hop.dance

K-Cheung Reminiscing pt 1: Pre College dance life

Sometimes I wonder where I would be if I never joined ReFresH. In fact, sometimes I wonder where I would be if I didn’t dance. At the DZ workshop, I was telling people how I got started dancing at those Bar Mitzvah parties in 7th grade. It’s a memory I hadn’t thought about for a long time. I saw a kid trying to do a helicopter, I got up did it on the dance floor, added a back spin and kip up to it, and it became the signature Kevin Cheung routine. A few weeks later I learned to six step (I could only go one direction back then), then my first freeze was a normal chair. Then one Bar Mitzvah, I met a guy who taught me basic tutting and arm waves (I didn’t know it was tutting back then). And so I entered the world of Popping. Back in the days before youtube, I had this one video of Mr. Wiggles that I would constantly watch. I went and bought some “How to breakdance” VHS tapes (LOL Vhs).

I never had any friends at home who shared my passion for dance. So the only times I could dance would be by myself or at parties. I never practiced much because of this. Enter CTY, a summer school camp, where I met a lot of like minded people. Summer before 9th grade, I went and met a bunch of other Asians who did the same as me. This is also where I learned to rave. This was also the first time I had a bunch of predominantly Asian friends. Even then dancing affected my life. I was always at the dances there in the circles doing my thing. I would meet people through that and we would be able to chill and stuff. It was something I was known for more so back at home where no one really did this kinda thing and I stood out, but here it felt like I had some people who understood me a bit more.

Throughout high school, I practiced little by little and added new styles and moves. I got really good at the 4 step and that would be enough to impress most people back then. Whenever I met someone that was also a dancer, I felt like we had a cool connection. When I think about it, even when it wasn’t such a big part of my life, it still would have changed things if I hadn’t danced.

Enter Northwestern. I think the current juniors still had the fling at the field their freshman year, but for everyone else, it was big dance that NU hosts for the freshman during new student week. As usual, I go out in the cipher and do my thing and I watch others go out too and later on we all meet up to talk and chill. That’s when I met my first huge group of Asians haha and a bunch of people I hung out with freshman year. In fact, a bunch of them were pledging Lambdas and I found myself along with them in the process. Needless to say, my dancing didn’t really improve my freshman year as I only did it occasionally at frat dance parties. Oh and funny story, I was planning on trying out for Fusion with a friend, but I missed the auditions haha he got in though. Anyway, then comes my sophomore year and I find out about this group that meets in Blomquist fridays 3-6 and decide to show up…

End Part 1
Cheung out

February 12, 2009 - Posted by | Community

2 Comments »

  1. haha, we are glad you missed those Fusion auditions. 😀

    Comment by bboycloudix | February 13, 2009 | Reply

  2. haha seriously, my life might have been very different.

    Comment by dreamstatecheung | February 14, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

