ReFresH Dance

hip.hop.dance

Some random musings over break

Hey all. This is just a post I’m doing while my videos for Interlude convert, but I was watching The Lost Kids’ charity workshop, and I think it’s a crazy video. If you don’t know who The Lost Kids are, they’re the graduates of Funkanometry SF who’ve decided to move on to other things. If you don’t know who Funkanometry SF is….uh…ask Val =)


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3yAbGyP1bo4 (cause the youtube embedding function is confusing)

But anyways, I’m sure I’ve shown this video to a billion of you, but I think it’s worth posting up here. The first piece has a real heavy groove but mixes in a lot of the vocals into the choreography, and it def a solid piece. The second one, though, is completely amazing, one done by Ellen and Kyle, the directors of The Lost Kids. The speed of the piece is obviously insane, but what’s so amazing is how well the choreography fits, both technically to the music, and emotionally to the tone/aura of the piece. I would have killed to have been there to learn that piece.

A note to girls, look at the way Ellen is able to move her hair in the piece. It adds so much depth and movement to the piece, and I think it’s crazy sexy too. I’ve heard this mentioned time and time again by choreographers that girls have a lot of hair that they can use to add a whole new dimension to their pieces, but on the flip side of the coin, if you don’t use it, your dancing just looks flat. Obviously I have no idea how hard it is to deal with hair like that (haha I could try, I guess), but I can definitely appreciate watching a girl who really knows how to move it (god it’s sexy).

And on to Mari’s piece. I think that it’s a crazy example of how a hip-hop style of movement can be applied to any kind of music. If you listen really carefully, the musicality in the piece is really cool. A lot of people have said they didn’t like it right off the bat, (someone even said it was “whack”, name withheld), but I challenge you guys to open your minds a little and give the piece another try. Naturally, everyone’s going to have a different opinion on dance as a whole, and I’m not saying people who don’t like this are narrow. But just because something’s done to a non-standard hip-hop song doesn’t mean it can’t be cool. I’ve seen it done well, and I’ve seen it done poorly, and it’s up to you to decide which is which.

And of course, the idea of a charity workshop is incredibly inspiring. It’s really cool to see dancers putting on something like this to try and give back to the community, especially if you consider that a lot of dancers don’t have money to throw around. Major respect to The Lost Kids for putting on an event like this!


And if how much I love what they do was a dance, this would be it.

December 20, 2008 - Posted by | Community, Off-Campus Events

3 Comments »

  1. love how kyle always acts the straight guy haha

    Comment by Vpants | December 20, 2008 | Reply

  2. wow awesome videos! The couples one is really good!

    Comment by dreamstatecheung | December 21, 2008 | Reply

  3. That pair piece is sooo cute! The musicality is great too!

    Comment by sleepyshih | December 22, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

