ReFresH Dance

hip.hop.dance

Summer Resolutions

Since spring quarter is drawing to a close, and summer is only a couple of weeks away, I think it’s time for us ReFresHers to start thinking of ways we can use the summer to learn more about what we love most: hip-hop dance! and all things related. If we all split our separate ways with specific goals we have in mind and means to accomplish them, then when we come back in the fall we’ll be on top and ready to snag those freshmen 🙂 and kick some major ass on stage.

Things that could be good goals are: improve on freestyle and breaking (a good goal you can work on by yourself), learn the basics of composing choreography, learning tricks, take as many dance classes as possible

Personally, my summer goal is: to learn to be a good dance student. Essentially, learn to be a good learner: Understand what the choreographer is trying to convey in his/her dance, comprehend the appropriate body positions, coordination, attitude, etc. I also want to up my freestyle.

How am I going to do this? Luckily for me I will be in a major city this summer, where dance studios are not hard to find, and hip-hop is a more mainstream culture. But even if you’re not in a major city, you can find dance somewhere, and if it must be your own basement with a bunch of old high school friends, so be it. If you ever need help finding dance resources, just ask around ReFresH. I’m sure someone will know 🙂

So now I ask, what will be your goal this summer?

~Valeria

May 28, 2008 - Posted by | ReFresH Stuff | ,

8 Comments »

  1. Don’t forget to sign your articles, guys!

    Comment by chiapet | May 28, 2008 | Reply

  2. Enjoy the weather, catch up with friends, make money, gain valuable work experience and build up an amazing portfolio that will get me into the grad schools or jobs I want.

    …oh, dance goals…

    Improve my freestyle (esp. popping, locking, waving, tutting), start figuring out how to choreograph… and put more attitude into my dancing. 😛

    Who all’s around E-town this summer? I know there’s a lot of you.

    Comment by sleepyshih | May 28, 2008 | Reply

  3. I guess for me it’s going to be learning how Ugandans dance and when I get back…choreo somethaaaang. =)

    Comment by pizzaman88 | May 28, 2008 | Reply

  4. I AM (:

    To people who are gonna be around this summer:
    Be prepared…
    … to be broke from all the dance classes that we’re all gonna go to (: hahah

    Comment by clauzzzie | May 28, 2008 | Reply

  5. I’ll be around. Let’s all find some place to dance together. I think NU Gyms are still open during summer time.

    My goal is to improve my popping and bboying and improve my choreo picking up ability.

    Comment by joefasho | May 31, 2008 | Reply

  6. Hmmm, I’m going to scout around the city to see if I can find any studios just to keep it up. I doubt I’m going to run into anything amazing, but I can use the practice.

    Comment by limitbreaker | June 2, 2008 | Reply

  7. Headspins 🙂

    Comment by bboycloudix | June 2, 2008 | Reply

  8. Summer plans? Hmm lets see… odd jobs galore. Hanging with my family. Preparing to be a CA and planning events for CSA.

    As for dancing, I wil probably be freestyling my ass off (folks in Carolina get to see what people down Sheridan Road have been watching) along with learning the choreo in case I decide to stick around ReFresH next quarter.

    Oh and possibly meeting my future wife if my parents successfully set me up with one of the girls back home now that I’m single again.

    Comment by acyan | June 5, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

